In order to become a Colorado notary public, you must meet the requirements to qualify. For more detailed information on these qualifications, please visit the Secretary of State’s website.
Online Notary Course
A notary public is a person commissioned to serve the public as a neutral witness. A notary performs notarial acts that are allowed or required by law.
A notary is a verifier, an authenticator, an impartial agent for the state, a public recorder of acts, and an unbiased, official witness.
A bond provides a layer of protection for the notary from liability incurred by improperly notarizing. A notary does not have to be bonded in Colorado, but it’s something you may want to consider. If you have any questions, you should seek legal advice.
Another option to consider is errors and omissions insurance (E&O).
By Colorado law, the maximum fee allowed for a notarization is $5 per document and includes:
The maximum fee for an electronic notarization is $10.
If you charge for other services, you should itemize those separately.
Your notary ID is an 11-digit number assigned to you when you become a notary. The ID is printed on your certificate below the date that it was issued. Your notary ID should also have been provided to you in an email from our office. You can search for your ID on Verify a Notary.
A5. Your commission expiration date is on your Notary Commission Certificate. If you have lost or misplaced your Notary Commission Certificate, you can get a duplicate copy (see FAQ Q7, below). You can also search for your name under Verify a Notary on the Notary home page to find your expiration date.
Yes. All payments, whether you pay with your account or by credit card, are processed through our secure merchant services providers, PayPal and Stripe. Our company does not keep any payment info on file.
In Colorado, it takes approximately 6 weeks to receive your new commission starting from the date you take the exam. Your exam results are sent out within 7-10 working days after your exam. After you receive the exam results indicating a passing grade, you must submit your fingerprints as part of a background check. Once the results are received by the Secretary of State’s office, they will process your application and mail your commission to you.
Student must submit a request, in writing, within 24 Hours of registering for the course to receive a credit toward to future class. Otherwise, you will lose the payment for the class.
The cost to become a notary public can vary, depending on the vendors you choose. The State Exam and fingerprint fees are set fees. Here is a breakdown of the costs involved:
Approved Education Course: Our online course is $49.99
Application Fee: $20
Exam Fee: $20 for first time applicants or renewing notaries
Passport Photos: Approximately $10-15
Fingerprint Fees (effective 1/1/08): $32 to the DOJ and $17 to the FBI, plus $30 “Rolling Fee”
Notary Supplies: Approximately $75 or more, depending on the vendor and what supplies you order
You have six months to complete the course.
© 2023 Colorado Notary Center. All Rights Reserved.